So what do you do to relax?

After a long week we all need something to help us relax. I’m just off to a trombone lesson. I play a variety of musical instruments – not necessarily well – but a few years ago I admitted that actually, I’d always wanted to play the trombone. Playing the trombone is hardly an unusual hobby but at nearly 50 and not much over 5′ 1″ it seemed strange to a lot of people. I have learnt how to play those notes that mean that the slide is stretched all the way out – where there’s a will there’s a way!

It is certainly not the easiest instrument that I’ve learnt to play, in fact I’d go as far as to say it is the most difficult. First find the right slide position – there are no markings to tell you where to put it, then get the right note to come out – 5 or 6 notes are possible at each position – getting the right one first time is still sometimes more by good luck than judgement. But it is fun and serves a purpose – trying to play means I can’t think about school work or even home, it is an all consuming task that actually gives my brain some switch off time.

I know that some people like running, painting or knitting but I’m not at all sporty, my stick men are exemplary and my knitting is limited to very simple things so I guess I’ll stick to trombone.

So what do you do to relax?

One thought on “So what do you do to relax?

Leave a Reply

