Routines and logic

I, probably like most people, have fairly consistent, regular morning and bedtime routines. I’m not driven by them, I’m not worried if they change but I still stick to them. At the moment I’m at my mum’s house, I have a regular routine there too, but it is very different to the one at home.

It is strange how these routines develop, I know that I have read that for something to be a habit you have to do it 21/35/50 times but I don’t remember doing some things that many times. I know that for some routines become all encompassing, they must do them. What did they do before this routine was so ingrained?

My mum loves it when I’ve done the washing up, the game of hunt the sieve or the ladel is one of her favourites for a few days after I’ve gone! I think I know where she keeps things and put items away accordingly…….. almost! I think I’m using her logic, but it has anomalies (in my mind) . She’s getting very good at working out how I might have thought and locating lost items now though!

Does this happen with the children at school too? As a class teacher you set up routines, they take a while to embed but gradually your class know how you do things even though it may be different to last year. They put things away trying hard to use your logic, I know most things will be obvious and clearly labelled drawers and cupboards will help. The social communication talk at the Education Show again reminded us that pictures as well as words on labels really help. I can certainly see that writing “compasses” or “files” on a drawer could end up with a strange variety of objects though most children will generally try to follow what they think you will want.

I often say that when I did my teaching degree I must have missed the mind reading lecture but I need to remember that others may have missed it too. In the meantime do I put the ladel in with the tall objects pot, with the large spoons, in the miscellaneous kitchen objects drawer or somewhere totally different?

Routines and logic

One thought on “Routines and logic

Leave a Reply

