If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it

We had a computer system at school that I could use. I needed a phone number, I typed in a name and up would pop the number. I wanted to add someone to the SEN register and it took seconds, the people in the office would then wave a magic wand (or something similar) and the pupil tracker system would be updated. It seemed easy.

Of course the solution to my non-existent problem was to change the computer system! It was the end of term, I updated the SEN register and I went asked the nice ladies in the office to wave their magic wand. “No!” I was shocked! Apparently we were being upgraded and transferred to a new super whizzy system and the data would not be transferred from my nice, old, comfortable system. it wasn’t too drastic, I could wait.

The new term starts and it is data analysis time. “Please can I have a log on for the new super whizzy system?”

“No!” Apparently the new system isn’t quite working yet, it hasn’t imported all of the data correctly. I can manage to do what I need to do data-wise with a calculator and a list of children’s names so it isn’t the end of the world but as my dad used to say, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” and I think that with computer systems that is a very true statement!

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it

One thought on “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it

Leave a Reply

