Solving puzzles

I’ve always loved puzzles, word puzzles, logic puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, you name it I’ve probably tried it. The general puzzle that I seem to live is equivalent to how do you get a gallon into a pint pot? There isn’t enough time however I try to organise things.

At present as well as being a SENCO, trying to complete some action research and write a 5000 word essay and have a bit of a life I’m marking SATs. I’ve done it for years but for those who haven’t read

http://www.theguardian.com/education/2015/jun/02/pearson-sats-marking-problems-software

life has not been plain sailing and so I’m running a bit behind my normal marking schedule. That’s a boring puzzle though!

Today I have had great fun trying to organise the new lunchtime rota for TAs. It’s one of those puzzles that you know must have a solution but getting there is tricky. If the weather is fine I thought I had it sorted, if we have to declare wet play then we are into a whole different ball game! I did an initial plan – and it looked great but I forgot what time Nursery started. Plan 2, I forgot someone needed to be in the hall to help Reception. Plan 3 – so Y3 don’t have anyone with them for 15 minutes during the cross over of KS1 and KS2 lunches.

I’ve fiddled and tampered and made grids and checked that no one is in 2 places at once, that every class has cover if it is raining even if it is Friday when some people don’t work. I think I’ve cracked it. Now all I have to do is to let everyone know!

These sort of brain teasers do make you think in a different way and I think that sometimes that is good. Marking SATs papers also makes me think in a different way – at present I am on the internet as I’m typing this but the marking page says check my connection. I think that is a greater puzzle that I can’t solve.

Solving puzzles

Leave a Reply

